Tech Slims

World-Wide Education Tips

Secretaries of Education Policy

Secretaries of Education Policy

The United States Department of Education, sometimes called the ED for Education, is a cabinet-level department of the United States federal government. It was founded in 1957. It consists of eleven departments: Education and the Workforce Development; Federal Family Services; Domestic Assistance; Consumer Financial Protection; Employee Training and Retirement Programs; Health Professions and Insurance; Technology; Technology Assisted Learning; Transportation; Science and Mathematics; Social Work and the Behavioral Health Professions. The department’s activities are aimed at helping students attain their dream colleges, universities and post-secondary schools.

The federal department of education carries out a wide range of federal assistance and educational programs, such as Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, and Direct Financial Aid. The Federal Work Study Program (FSOP) provides payment for part-time and full-time work for students who cannot afford to go to school. There are also financial aid and work-study programs offered by state governments. The department of education also participates in the program for Federal Action Plan for the Student Loan Interest Deduction.

The department of education has a wide range of activities, including core curriculum development, implementation, consultation and counseling, training, research, grants, licensing, student assistance and coordination, school finance management and policy development. It is mandated by law that every individual with a federal loan must be given an opportunity to attend a college or university of their choice. Every year, it publishes a Digest on Federal Student Aid, which provides information regarding loan debt relief, the current status of federal student loans, and new loan programs. The department of education also has a website that gives detailed information on various topics related to Federal Student Aid. In addition to the Digest, the department of education maintains a number of other websites on subjects such as Federal Student Aid, Federal Family Education Loan Program, Federal Perkins Loans, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, and Federal Service Loans. Every individual with a federal loan is eligible for a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), which determines eligibility for student aid.

The first task for any individual with a federal loan is to check if his or her loan will qualify for a federal education programs. The Department of Education offers six federal education programs. It is mandatory that individuals who are enrolled in third level or lower studies should apply for the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The form can be downloaded from the Federal Student Aid website. Individuals with disability benefits or children who are eligible for the Pell grant need to fill out the FAFSA form.

There are six departments in the department of education. The first one is the Direct Training Services, which provides training to staff members at technical schools and community colleges on education programs, student services, technical products and computer-based training. Under this head, there is the Council of Higher Education Accreditation Programs (CHEAAP) which is responsible for commissioning CHEAAP accredited programs. The CHEAAP has three goals: to set the standards for accreditation and to ensure that these standards are met; to encourage training in skills that transfer successfully to the workplace and to provide employers with reliable employment information. The CHEAAP also publishes a peer reviewed Journal of Special Education.

The second cabinet-level department is the Office of the Secretary, which consists of two principal posts, the Secretary of Education and the Assistant Secretary for Education. The Secretaries have overall responsibility for implementing the policies of the department of education. The Assistant Secretary for Education’s role is similar to that of the Undersecretary of Education. He or she is in charge of coordinating federal financial aid, preparing the budgets and assisting in postsecondary education as needed.

The third post in the department of education is the Counseling and Literacy Services. The Counseling Service provides training and development for students, parents and communities in the use of appropriate tools to assist in student achievement. This includes developing and managing programs that enhance instruction and assessment techniques used in the National Assessment for Educational Practice (NAAP), which is conducted by the Department of Education. The NAAP is the reference source for federal educational policies. The NAAP is administered by the U.S. Department of Education and is administered through local boards of education.

The fourth post in the department of education is the Undersecretary for Enforcement. The Undersecretary for Enforcement is in charge of implementing and enforcing laws regarding education. This includes performing investigations and providing recommendations to Congress concerning enforcement. This includes enforcing civil rights, child support enforcement, work requirements and fair treatment and equal opportunity for all students within the country. One of the functions of the Undersecretary for Enforcement is the provision of consultations to other federal law enforcement agencies, including the FBI. The Secretaries have oversight and control over the entire enforcement program.